Not having learned anything formal in Japanese, apart from konichiwa, I was always under the impression that Japanese was complicated. I guess the complication arises from the unfamiliar characters. I always imagined 1,000s of characters like Mandarin or Cantonese (see, I do know that there is no such language as Chinese). It appears that I was wrong, there is a limited alphabet; which in itself makes the prospect of learning Japanese a lot simpler. Not that I am going to, I have enough fun screwing up Portuguese and Spanish.

The Ultimate Way to Remember the Japanese Alphabet’s Order

OK, quick fact about the Japanese language – words can be written left to right like the English language when you write it out like ねこ. However, you read Japanese from up to down, right to left when the Japanese characters are displayed in a vertical manner.

The Japanese alphabet is thus displayed in a chart as shown above, which is read up to down, right to left. The order of the letter columns is very strange, but luckily my Japanese sensei for 10/11th grade taught my class a memory trick that I will never, ever forget.

A – A
K – KID
S – SAID
T – TO
N – NINE
H – HENS
M – MY
Y – YELLOW
R – RIBBON
W – WAS
N – NEW

A KID SAID TO NINE HENS MY YELLOW RIBBON WAS NEW.

Reposted from: The Ultimate Way with thanks

